Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the latest NCCA updates. Click here to subscribe.

 NCCA newsletter. Click here to subscribe.


Shropshire's Graham Wagg presented with Wilfred Rhodes Trophy

5 May 2022
Shropshire's Graham Wagg presented with Wilfred Rhodes Trophy

Shropshire’s Graham Wagg has been presented with a prestigious award from the National Counties Cricket Association following an impressive first season with the county.

Wagg received the Wilfred Rhodes Trophy from Nick Archer, the chairman of the NCCA, during the lunch interval of Shropshire’s two T20 group matches against Staffordshire at Whitchurch on Sunday.

The award, first presented in 1955, is awarded annually to the player with the highest batting average in the NCCA Championship, with Wagg scoring more runs than any other player in the three-day format during the 2021 season. 

The former Glamorgan all-rounder struck 453 Championship runs, including two hundreds and a half-century, at an average of 56.63 in Shropshire’s four Championship matches.

Pictured: Shropshire’s Graham Wagg was presented with the Wilfred Rhodes Trophy by Nich Archer, the chairman of the National Counties Cricket Association, at Whitchurch on Sunday.

More from NCCA

28th May 2022

Essex opening batter Nick Browne will make his first appearance for Suffolk in nine years...


26th May 2022

There may be an unfamiliar look to Berkshire’s side this season but their coach, Tom...

Oxfordshire T20 - 2022png.png

22nd May 2022

Oxfordshire added the National Counties T20 title to the three-day National Counties...